Become a Monk

A place with a Sense of Life

At the very root of any monastic life, there is the discovery of the tremendous love with which God, gratuitously and without return, loved us. And it is in order to respond to that love that the monk want to dedicate his life to God.

The monastery is a place where the ultimate sense of life is asserted, lived in community. Monks search God and follow on the footpath of Christ into a stable community, a brotherly school of charity. Our 10 brethren community lives according to the Rule of saint Benedict. The Father Abbot is commited to lead this little flock to the good pastures and makes sure that the monastery be a true “school for the service of God” in which each one progresses on the way of love.

Saint Benedict’s motto, “Pax” – Peace, is reflected on the face of those whose heart desires the only life in God. The watchwords of the Rule resume the monks’ occupation : “Ora et labora” – Pray and work. Prayer is the meeting place with God : community liturgic prayer, and personnal prayer, it is at the very heart of the monk’s life. It is supported by the Lectio Divina – the spiritual reading, especially the Holy Scriptures, in which the brothers meets Christ and deepers the mystery of His love. Each brother is being given a duty, preferably manual, whici allows the community to secure its subsistence.

Training

oelenberg-reiningue-10The training, which starts at the very entrance and continues for the whole life, is multilevelled : human, doctrinal and spiritual. Solitude, unceasing prayer, humble work, volontary poverty, chastity within celibacy and obedience are no human technics and cannot be learned from human masters. Still, the abbot’s teaching, the senior’s experience and wisdom, as well as the community’s support and steadfast exemple may be greatly useful to brethren, particularly during the trials and vicissitudes which punctuate the spiritual path.

The candidates for monastic life are welcomed with kindness; nevertheless “they are not granted an easy access”, according to saint Benedict’s advice. After some time at the monastery, they are admitted as applicants for a few months, before receiving the monastic habit, sign of admission to noviciate.  After two years of noviciate, the brother may apply for temporary vows, for a usual duration of three years. At the end of this period, if the brother and the community spot together this vocation of God, the brother may do vows until death – the solemn profession -, act by which he is definitely incorporated into the Order.

Our church, as any church of our Order, and each monk, is dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary, Mother and Symbol of the Church in the order of faith, love and perfect union with Christ.

Devenir Moine

Un lieu où il y a Sens de Vie

A la racine de toute vie monastique, il y a la découverte de l’immense amour dont Dieu, gratuitement et sans retour, nous a aimés. Et c’est pour répondre à cet amour que le moine veut consacrer sa vie à Dieu.

Le monastère est un lieu où est affirmé, vécu en communauté, le sens ultime de la vie. Les moines cherchent Dieu et marchent à la suite du Christ dans une communauté stable, école de charité fraternelle. Notre communauté de 10 frères vit selon la Règle de saint Benoît. Le Père Abbé est chargé de mener ce petit troupeau sur les bons pâturages et de veiller à ce que le monastère soit une véritable « école du service du Seigneur » en laquelle chacun progresse sur le chemin de l’amour.

La devise de saint Benoît, “Pax” – Paix, se reflète sur le visage de ceux dont le cœur désire la seule vie en Dieu. Les mots d’ordre de la Règle résument l’activité des moines : “Ora et labora” – Prie et travaille. La prière est le lieu de la rencontre avec Dieu : prière liturgique communautaire, et prière personnelle, elle est le cœur de la vie du moine. Elle est soutenue par la Lectio divina – lecture spirituelle, surtout des Saintes Écritures, dans lesquelles le frère rencontre le Christ et approfondit le mystère de Son amour. Chaque frère se voit confié un travail, manuel de préférence, qui permet à la communauté d’assurer sa subsistance.

Formation

oelenberg-reiningue-10La formation, qui commence dès l’entrée et se poursuit tout au long de la vie, se situe à plusieurs niveaux : humain, doctrinal et spirituel. La solitude, la prière incessante, le travail humble, la pauvreté volontaire, la chasteté dans le célibat et l’obéissance ne sont pas des techniques humaines et ne peuvent s’apprendre de maîtres humains. Néanmoins l’enseignement de l’abbé, l’expérience et la sagesse des anciens, ainsi que le soutien et l’exemple constants de la communauté peuvent être grandement utiles aux frères, particulièrement au cours des épreuves et des vicissitudes qui jalonnent l’itinéraire spirituel.

Les aspirants à la vie monastique sont accueillis avec bonté ; cependant « on ne leur accorde pas facilement l’entrée », selon le conseil de saint Benoît. Après une certaine fréquentation du monastère, ils sont accueillis comme postulants pour plusieurs mois, avant de recevoir l’habit monastique, signe de l’admission au noviciat.  Après deux années de noviciat, le frère peut demander à faire des vœux temporaires, pour une durée habituelle de trois années. Au terme de cette période, si le frère et la communauté discernent ensemble cet appel de Dieu, le frère peut faire des vœux jusqu’à la mort – la profession solennelle –, acte par lequel il est définitivement incorporé dans l’Ordre.

Notre église, comme chaque église de notre Ordre, et chaque moine, est dédiée à la bienheureuse Vierge Marie, Mère et Figure de l’Eglise dans l’ordre de la foi, de la charité et de l’union parfaite avec le Christ.

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter